Graphic Design and iDiversity, pt. 1: Logos

I have not previously mentioned this, but in September I was elected the webmaster for iDiversity, a club at University of Maryland’s iSchool. I get to do all sorts of cool stuff as the webmaster, and I hope I’ll get to talk about all of that in this blog at some time or another.

I’ll start by talking about some of the graphics that I’ve created for iDiversity.

1. New Logos!

Here’s some of the old logos that iDiversity was using before I made some changes:

Old iDiversity small logo

This is the old, small version of iDiversity logo.

Old iDiversity Logo

This is the old version of the iDiversity logo.

I really love the idea of these logos. The colors match UMD’s color scheme (red, black, and gold) and the “i” incorporated into the “D” is sleek and smooth. Unfortunately, the gold and red used in this version must be placed over black (or have a black shadow) in order to be easily read. In the past, this has made some of our printing costs a little higher than they had to be. It also means that the logo isn’t as sleek or clean as I would like.

Additionally, the font is a little outdated and is a serif font–which is not as preferable as a non-serif font. While not as big a deal as the color issue, a serif font is not AS accessible as a non-serif font. Having a non-serif font is representative of our club’s mission and values.

So, I took it upon myself to change the logo.

New iDiversity icon

Here is the new iDiversity icon

Yellow iDiveristy Logo

Here is the new iDiversity logo in yellow

First, I changed the font to a non-serif font (Century Gothic, in case you were wondering). This made the logo look current and clean, instead of a little behind the times. I kept the “i” positioned over the “D” since that is pretty genius and I really love how that looks.

Since I really liked the idea of staying true to the school colors, I kept the red and gold of the first logo in the first round of logo design. I darkened the yellow to make it more readable against white. Unfortunately, this yellow is inaccessible according to WAI and Section 508. So it was back to the drawing board.

iDiversity Logo with a black outline

Here is the iDiversity logo with a black outline

I tried giving the logo a black outline. Again, it just didn’t look good (or, not as good as the logo without an outline). So I tried again.

iDiversity Logo in black

Here is the iDiversity logo in black

I finally switched out the yellow font with black font. This stayed within the school colors and was fully accessible against a white background. Currently, this black version is used on the website, while the yellow version is used on print materials.

iDiversity logo for mobile

Here is the mobile version of the iDiversity logo

This is the last version of the logo that I made. It is for the mobile version of our site, that is a simpler version of the online site. This logo is positioned over the header graphic from the website, which matches the colors used throughout the site. It is simple and clean and just looks pretty on a phone. It’s also accessible, just like the normal, black version of the logo.

It is important to create clean and accessible graphics for the iDiversity website. iDiversity not only works towards creating a world where “information is equitably and inclusively accessible,” but also works towards helping people serve underrepresented populations. As an officer of this club, it is my responsibility to make sure that I also follow this vision–and that’s why it’s important for me to create products that further this vision. I think that these logos show that I, and our group as a whole, takes these responsibilities seriously.

Next time I’ll talk about some of the “chicklets” I made for the site that follow these values and my process of creating these graphics.

2 thoughts on “Graphic Design and iDiversity, pt. 1: Logos

  1. Pingback: Graphic Design and iDiversity, pt. 2: Social Networking Chicklets | Library, Baby!

  2. Pingback: iDiversity and Google Analytics | Library, Baby!

Leave a Reply

